Happy Birthday, Papa! I love you!

I smsed him the exact same sentence above and I think he got pretty surprised. I mean come on. Asians have a big diffculty expressing themselves. Especially to their loved ones. I can never ever say ‘I love you’ to my parents and my ever-the-same-idiotic-annoying-but-funny brother. But yet I can say it to my close friends. Even if I wrote that 3 words on a card and present it to my parents, I’d be all icky inside. Its like its a weird thing to do. Sigh, why are all Asians like that? Especially Asians that live in Southeast Asia (duh! not saying those who lived in the UK or US their whole life.)

Anyway, my father was the one who taught me many things especially sports. He’s a great athlete, he can run for like an hour and not feel tired. But lately he’s having problems with his legs and he’s not that active in running anymore.

He was the one who exposed me to swimming at 4, he was the one who taught me how to ride a bike at 6, he was the one who taught me how to play badminton at 8, he was the one who taught me how to play table tennis at 10… It was the exposure of sports that made me took part in the Sports event in primary school. The spirit of his love of sports never dies. He was also always the one who accompanys me to all my roller-coaster rides (just because my mum and brother can’t take the thrill). He usually always gives in to my demands, like how he gives me cash when I’m broke and always pamper me with birthday gifts.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
He’s a great person, and also a fabulous father that I could never ask for more. Happy 55th birthday Papa, I will always love you. Thank you for everything you’ve done.

(I cried insanely through the typing of this post)

